The End.

The End.

“That’s a really nice necklace…what is it?”
“It’s a Mexican calendar.”
“Ah, yes, the Mayan calendar.  Do you believe in 2012?”
“Yep.”
“What do you think will happen?”
“A shift.”
“Hmm…I like that answer.”

Saturday night, a new friend complimented the pendant I’m currently sporting.  I’ve had it for ages, Mom got it for me in Mexico about 10 years ago, but I’ve recently fished it out of my jumbles of gems to give it some play…mostly because it matches my new earrings, but I wonder if it’s possible it’s because everything it represents matches a major subplot in my subconscious.

I just finished an astounding book authored by Cormac McCarthy called “The Road.” It’s the kind of profound read that you’re almost nervous to partake in publicly because you completely lose yourself in the tale and can’t help but verbalize your shock and amazement. I was reading it on the tram on the way to work, and I recall having to put the book down, suck in a slow, deep breath, exhale, “whooooooooo…” while drumming my fingers on my knee, and wait until I could muster some courage to continue. So f-in intense, man.  It’s the same dude who wrote, “No Country for Old Men.”  Essentially, it’s about “The Man” and “The Boy” fighting to survive in a post-apocalyptic world. It never actually articulates what precisely happens, but alludes to a fireball hitting the earth, mostly everything burning to the ground, a grey cloud of ash veiling the sky, and tells the story of some of the few (fortunate??) survivors and how they push on.  There’s no food, no “society” or “civilization”, just a handful of humans, half turned cannibals, the other half running scared scavengers and leaves you asking questions like ,”WTF would I do (when and) if that happened?” and, “What’s there to hope for when there’s nothing left to hope for?”  Seriously, this book is innnnntense. It really gets the wheels turning. A must read.

With that explanation aside, rewind to the Mayan calendar on my necklace. Most people will have heard about 2012 by now, but for the lame arses with their head in the sand (kidding!), I’ll relay the Reader’s Digest version. December 21, 2012 is when the Mayan Calendar ends, and consequently, to quote R.E.M., it’s the end of the world as we know it. Before the eyes start rolling, and I’m pegged as some sort of doorknocking, ding dong who’s trying to convert you to Jehovah, google it. You can do your own research to see it ain’t no small faction of loonies who are proponents of this theory. I’m not going to try to convince anyone, but I do think an exploration of the ideas and implications surrounding the possibility of this coming to fruition is a provocative and worthwhile thought experiment.

It’s silly semantics, really, to peg this kind of talk as “conspiracy theory.” That phrase holds such negative connotations, and what does it even mean anyway? Is a conspiracy theorist someone who entertains/believes in ideas that aren’t prepackaged by the media? If so, then shoot, I guess I’ll have to accept that dissentient classification; let’s all just roleplay as Screwball Sam for a minute and pretend it’s not a bad thing to entertain such notions.  Let’s also not get bogged down in the technicalities of the precise 12/21/12 prediction, and instead just think about where this world is headed.  Maybe it won’t be a page out of the Book of Revelations, and maybe it won’t be a single catastrophic event on a distinct date, but it’s honestly no so far fetched to think that with the way things are accelerating exponentially, planet earth as we know her and love  her is in for a facelift.

I fancy that’s what I was getting at with my response to the question, “What do you think is going to happen?” Maybe there will be floods and fires and humans will resort/revert to cannibalism and there will be mass destruction and murder and mayhem and lord only knows what else, or maybe we’re all just in for a major shift in perception? What if entering the fifth dimension means finally recalibrating our collective consciousness?

Having just spent time in a country that was simultaneously suffering fires, floods, droughts etc., it’s not that formidable to fathom the ‘facelift’ aspect of things. And tuning into the murmurs of our thinkers, prophets and spiritual leaders, I’m admittedly hopeful that we are indeed in for a mental metamorphosis.

