Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 11:11pm 

Took me a minute to catch my breath and figure that one out. What day is it? What time is it? Where am I?
I’m as home as I’ll ever be. And I came here because I need some serious healing. Funny how the universe just drops you places sometimes. I arrived with my past and decided to shake that loose and now I’m just busy deflating. 
I have nothing with me but my carry ons. Teency, tiny bags. Just enough. Suppose it was a blessing in disguise to have to dump all of that shit at the airport. The rest of it’s stuck in Sydney. Just another way of giving me one more heads up that I’m about to do some heavy duty shedding. 
I took a trip to the hippy town of Nimbin the other day. At the lake on the stop home, the cicadas started trilling everywhere. Pretty special because these bugs live underground for something ridiculous like 13 years. Insane little insects. The coolest thing is you can see their shells left behind on the bark of the trees – just right where they left them, right at the moment they decided to carry on without it. Yeah, that’s me – shedding. 
I’m in Byron Bay. 2 minute walk to the beach. One plate, one bowl, two spoons, one mug, a knife, a fork, one bag of groceries. One Englishman, one Irish girl, one Aussie lady, a ton of Frenchmen, Germans, Dutch, Canadians…the universe representin’…transient little family. The hostel kitchen closes for cleaning at 3:15. That’s usually how I suss out what time of day it is. “Oh, must be gettin’ on in the day…” The sun goes down at 6:00. That’s when the bats come out. 
Who knows what I’m up to, aside from standing in the ocean, in front of my future, and happily letting the waves bash away any tiny insignificant worry. The soil is magical here. Violet, I reckon. I know, I know, I know. I’m so glad I found it. I suppose I’ll know when it’s time to make a move. 
Until then, my next biggest concern is lunch.

