Monday, December 1, 2008 at 9:03pm

I woke up to a real nice email this morning. The kind that brings a tear to your eye, not so much happy, not so much sad, just real emotion, one way or the other. Good ol’ Jonny King. If ever there was anyone who knows how to bring tears to my eyes, it’s him. Anyone who knows anything about us and who we were can most definitely vouch for that.
We met in Baba’s Lounge, it was love at first sight, and away we went. Always a warning sign. “Whoa, you’re alive…who are you?” J Kun said to me, it might of been that night or shortly thereafter, “Ooh, be careful. You two are like huge fires and if you put that together, it’s a recipe for trouble.” How can you resist though? Fire naturally wants to spread and we both had lessons to learn.
My god. The fussing, the fighting, the passion. Chucking his stuff out the window, bawling my eyes out when it was “over” for the third time, never a dull moment dans la boudouir…the ups and downs and rollercoasterness of it all…Three years we kept at it, kept at each other, hanging on to potential and what could of been. Finally, finally, we both turned a corner in our minds and figured the purpose had been served and we transformed into mates of the closest kind. I know your deepest, darkest, but hey, let’s watch a flick, smoke a j, and be civil…Time and space are wonderful healers. The best.
Almost 2 years since our cohabitation on Havelock St., my firey flame has cooled, he’s on to other business, we’re on opposite ends of the world, and you’ve got mail. “CYD, hope you’re doing well, blah blah blah, I wrote a new song – even if you don’t like it, listen to it at least once – the last bit is about you. Take care, love you, Jonny Bon…” So what girl doesn’t want a song written about her? Show me one.
It’s called Guardian Angels and it’s giving props to those who’ve crossed his path and shed some light.
The third angel was a ginger snap
She kicked my fuckin’ ass and I love her for that
Probably the only reason I’m not flat in a casket
From alcohol levels and the reds just maxin’
Easily could’ve been my wife
How much you need to say about someone who saved your life
‘cept they’re an angel for certain
and if you hear me CYD, then you’d better be surfin…

Ha. That’s the kind of thing you hold your breath through, with a big exhale to follow. Phewf.
Some kind of crazy, odd closure, light years away. Not that I needed it, but it’s that little reminder that you never, ever know why you cross paths with someone. We meet people, we construct ourselves for them, we surmise and devise who we want them to be, we relate, or try to, and spend so much energy trying to determine how the hell you’re supposed to “be” together.
Yeah, Jonny, I did kick your fuckin’ ass. But you kicked mine too. Yeah, you’re right, I should be surfin. And it’s an appropriate little push.
I met someone recently. A lovely, kind soul with an enormous but fearful heart. It gets confusing trying to know what to make of it when someone like that gets put in your way. Do you sign up for three years or settle for 3 days? I remember just looking at him thinking, “What business do we have with each other?” I don’t know, I’m sure he doesn’t know, and the truth of the matter is that it doesn’t matter. Not to our small minds anyway. The universe is ticking along, making its moves, planting its seeds, making it work and our job is just to be light, and share as much love as possible. That really cheesy expression, “Better to have loved and lost than to never loved at all” comes to mind. Even with all the tumultuousness of Jonny Bon and CYD I wouldn’t change any of it for the world. We’re all guardian angels for one another. No more me than you, my friend. Cheers to that.

