Sunday, April 26, 2009 at 6:01am 

An anonymous lady with a really thick accent stopped me in the street yesterday and started excitedly saying the same thing to me over and over again. Finally, after deciphering her broken english and hand gestures (a finger pointing to her face, making circular motions), I figured out she was asking me if I was from Afghanistan. Hmm. Really? Afghanistan? 

“Um, no.”

Oh, well “Blah, blah, blah, blah, change for a 20…” or something of that nature. I’m guessing maybe she was from Afghanistan herself and regardless of how much a longshot it was, she wanted to make me feel like we had some sort of connection before she got to the heart of the matter.

Today another lady stopped me and said, “Are you famous or have I seen you before?” The answer was no to both, but I stole Afghanistan lady’s sign language, pointed in a circular motion to my face and said, “Famous.” I didn’t give her a chance to ask me if I wanted to buy whatever kind of book it was she was selling. I had to play the role of a busy ‘famous’ person with no time for such street exchanges. 

Speaking of famous people, don’t you miss the days when you could just unabashedly and openly adore Michael Jackson? I do. He rocked my world, you know he did…

