I’ve never dreamt about you before, well, countless daydreams, but never the night ones, and then just when I’ve managed to stop fantasizing about you, there you are, visiting me at night. I was standing downstream on one side of the river, and you were upstream on the other. The sun was behind you, and when you joyfully jumped into the water, I took my camera out to capture you floating by, arms in the air, glorious sunrays beaming out making you look especially delightful. My camera was on the wrong setting, I didn’t want to use the flash, but I was committed at that point, so I strongly held the button down and waited, frustrated, for the picture to take. Just as you splashed past me, I heard the click and I got a disappointing and different photo of what I could see was a much more beautiful moment. And then you went floating on. And I woke up.

I’m no expert or anything, but if my spidey senses are correct, and often they are, I will take this as a sign that it’s time to let go. Let go of thoughts of you. Away you go, along the river. I’m left to edit my memories and be content that even though the camera couldn’t capture it, and perhaps you couldn’t see it the way I could see it, it was a truly special thing down there by that water. Perhaps I’ll catch you downstream sometime…

